Support our Sponsor
Click here for Answers
Second Strike Hits Runner Crossing Plate
With the bases loaded, one out and a one and one count on the batter, the runner on third gets a good jump and tries to steal home. As he slides over the plate, the pitch hits him in the strike zone and bounces a few feet away. The catcher recovers in time to nail the runner from second at third while the runner on first stays there. How should the umpire rule? How would you score the play and what are the rule references?
The first baseman notices that the runner on second has over slide second base throws to the shortstop who applies the tag to the runner before he can scramble back to the base.
In the meantime, the runners from second and third base have scored on the play; however the opposition team argue that the runs should not count, since the inning ended on a force out double play. Are they right? What is the rule reference and how do you score the play?
With one out, loaded bases, the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop, who throws to second base for the start of a double play, the runner from first beats the throw, The second baseman relays the ball to first base for the out on the batter.
Double Steal or Not
Runner on second and first. Runner on second takes off for third and runner on first breaks for second. The catcher, sensing that he has no chance to throw out the runner going to third, throws to second, hoping to get the out. Runner going to second base is tagged out. Does the runner going to third get a credit for a stolen base?
The runner who balked
In the top of the fifth inning, the pitcher is called for a balk, but he continues his delivery to the batter. The runner on first, when he hears the balk call, stsarts trotting to second. However when the batter hits a long fly ball to the fence, which is caught by the centre fielder, the runner becomes confused. Afraid that he is going to be doubled off first, he retreats to the base from which he came. The first baseman tags the runner when he returns to first base and claims he is out because he should be on second. Is the runner out?
In a game, with the score 0-0, in the ninth inning of that game, with loaded the bases and no out, the batter drove home the only run of the game when he grounded into a double play. Does the batter receive credit for a game winning RBI and how do you score the play?
In a game, the batter hits a long fly ball to left centre field. The centre fielder drifts back with the ball and appears to catch it easily as he backs into the fence. Upon the players contact with the fence the ball pops out of his glove and bounces over the fence. Is the batters hit a double or a home run?
Earned and unearned runs
With two out, batter No.3 reaches first base on a fielding error by the shortstop. Batter No.4 hits a home run, two runs scored. Batter No.5 strikes out. How do you score the runs? What is the rule reference?
Interference on Runner
With one down, runner on first base, the batter hits the ball to shortstop. Shortstop fields the ball and retires the runner going to second and in the act of attempting a double play to first base, the runner deliberately interferes with the shortstop. The umpire calls interference on the runner and also call out the batter-runner. How do you score the play and what are the rule references?
Player due to bat is already on base
Batters 5, 6, 7 and 8 in the batting order are due to bat in the inning. Batter no. 7 leads off and doubles and batter 6 hits a sacrifice bunt and advances batter 7 to third. Batter no. 5 then comes to the plate and takes one pitch before the defense appeals. What are the rule references
Pitcher pick-off attempt goes into stands
With a daring runner at first base, a nervous pitcher fires a pick-off throw into the stands. How many bases does the runner advance? What are the rule references and how do you score the play?
Batter pops up attempting to sacrifice
With none out and the bases loaded, the batter attempts to bunt but pops the ball into the air between the plate and pitches mound. The ball strikes the ground and spins back to the catcher who is standing on home plate. The catcher then tosses to the third baseman, standing on the third base bag, who relays the ball to the second baseman standing on second bag. All runners held their bases, fearing the ball would be caught. What is the result of the play and what are the rule references?
The bases are loaded with two out when the batter hits safely to right field. Two runners score but the third man overruns third base and is tagged in a run down. The batter advances to second buts misses first base on en route. The first baseman notes the mistake, calls for the ball and appeals. The umpire calls the batter out. Do the runs score? How do you score the play and what are the rule references?
Interference, balk on same pitch
With runners on second and third, two out, the coach of the defensive side gives the signal to the runner on third base to steal home. The catcher is aware of the runner coming home, but in his haste, interferes with the batter’s swing. However, he does succeed in tagging the runner. The question is, is the runner out and what about the Batter? How do you score the play and what are the rule references?
Home Run Bases Loaded
Bases are loaded, two out, batter hits to centre field for an inside-the-park homer. The runner from first, however, failed to touch second base after the batter crossed the plate. Second baseman calls for the ball steps on second and appeals. How do you score the play and what are the rule references?
Fielder leans against dugout, and drops the ball
The batter hits a high foul fly near the first base dugout. The first baseman makes a catch, but as he extends his arms to steady himself against the top of the dugout, the ball pops out of his glove and falls into the stands. Is this a legal catch? What is the rule reference and how do you score the play?
Catcher retires batter despite interference
With one out and 1st and 2nd bases occupied. While the runners are attempting a double steal, the batter accidently interferes with the catcher. Despite the interference, the catcher throws the ball to the shortstop who tags out the runner at 2nd base while the other runner goes to third. What are the rule references and how do you score the play?
Reliever retires side without pitch
With two on base and two out, a relief pitcher enters the game and before making a single pitch, picks the runner off attempting to return to 2nd base, to end the inning. The relief pitcher is substituted by a new player. Is this Legal or must he remain in the game and pitch to one batter in the next inning? How do you score the play?
Fielder and Pitcher scenario
A runner is on third base with one out, when a squeeze play is signaled by the coach. The first baseman notices the situation, and charges toward the plate while the pitcher, seeing the runner start for home, makes a hurried pitch. The first baseman catches the pitch before it reaches the batter and tags the runner. Is this allowed and how do you score the play?
Returning runner not forced
With runners on 1st and 3rd, with one out, the batter hits a blooper into short left-centre. The runner on third tags up but the runner on first, Who had started with the pitch, was around second when the left fielder made a sensational shoe string catch. Before the runner could return to 1st, the defensive team had relayed the ball to that base for a double play. However, the runner from third had crossed the plate before the third out. Does the run Count?